ContractTrail

Federal department or agency

Shared Services Canada: who it buys from

Every contract over $10,000 Shared Services Canada reported.

Total value
$35.8B
Contracts
22,253
Median contract
$61K
Non-competitive
27%
of 18,737 contracts that say how they were awarded

Federal contracts over $10,000, contracts dated Jan 2004 to Sep 2026, each counted once at its latest reported value. Source: Treasury Board proactive publication of contracts, published October 13, 2026.

40 categories in detail

Who sells each kind of thing to this buyer.

Top vendors

The vendors with the most contract value here.

Plus 602 contracts ($1.7B) to individuals, sole proprietors and vendors this site does not name. They count in every total above. Why

What was bought

By the Treasury Board object code each contract was filed under.

CategoryContractsTotal
Data communications services465$4.5B
License/Maintenance fees for operating system and utility software related to servers, storage, peripherals and components1,271$4.2B
License/Maintenance fees for client software related to Distributed Computing Environment (DCE)1,164$4.1B
Communications/Network services (includes services for analog, digital or combined analog and digital, parts, peripherals and cabling)160$3.3B
Information technology and telecommunications consultants1,064$3B
Computer equipment related to production and operations (P&O) environment-All servers, storage, printers, etc. (includes all related parts and peripherals)4,198$2.6B
Voice communications services1,282$2.4B
Computer Equipment related to Production and Operations (P&O) environment-All servers, storage, printers etc (Includes all related parts and peripherals)1,108$1.6B
Management consulting792$1.5B
Communications/Networking equipment (includes analog, digital and combined analog/digital equipment, cabling, parts and peripherals)1,104$957M
Computer services (includes IT solutions/deliverables as well as IT managed services)524$713M
Rental of computer equipment related to production and operations (P&O) environment-All servers, storage, printers, etc. (includes all related parts and peripherals)7$701M
Communications/Networking equipment (includes analog, digital and combined analog/digital equipment, cabling, parts and peripherals)1,314$576M
Capital lease-Tangible capital assets1$507M
License/Maintenance fees for networking software733$505M
Information Technology Services46$474M
Interest, administration or service charges, and other penalty charges2$371M
Application software (including COTS) and application development and delivery software72$364M
Other professional services not elsewhere specified184$198M
Human resources management services24$194M

Largest contracts

DateVendorValue
Jun 2017Rogers Communications Canada Inc.$1,271,678,319
Mar 2019Microsoft Canada Inc.$1,079,396,751
Jul 2025IBM Canada Ltd$814,360,983
May 2021IBM Canada Ltd$762,819,995
May 2016IBM Canada Ltd$525,731,853
Nov 2017IBM Canada Ltd$506,650,623
Mar 2019Microsoft Canada Inc.$472,317,369
Aug 2011Telus Communications Company$438,882,196
Mar 2025VMWare International Limited$373,842,375
Mar 2017IBM Canada Ltd$368,245,491
Apr 2015Telus Communications Company$356,046,146
Apr 2026Microsoft Canada Inc.$353,432,290
Jan 2015Microsoft Corporation$343,292,739
Dec 2017IBM Canada Ltd$328,292,876
Dec 2017The Bell Telephone Company Of$313,952,074
Mar 2019Microsoft Canada Inc.$308,328,045
Jun 2007Telus Communications Company$307,823,406
Jan 2018Bell Canada$270,777,479
Mar 2017Microsoft Corporation$256,903,154
Mar 2023The Bell Telephone Company Of$255,341,496

Latest contracts

DateVendorValue
Jun 2026R.J.R. Innovations Inc.$575,886
Jun 2026OnX Enterprise Solutions$331,394
Jun 2026Ivalua Canada, Inc.$137,041
Jun 2026Carahsoft Canada Inc$69,391
Jun 2026Zayo Canada Inc.$53,388
Jun 2026Ottawa Division - Canadian Corps$26,686
Jun 2026Knowledge Circle Learning Services$14,455
Jun 2026Galaxy Broadband Communications Inc$33,584
Jun 2026Decisive Group Inc.$345,286
Jun 20266175015 Canada Inc$39,774
Jun 2026The Bell Telephone Company Of$32,818
Jun 2026Anixter Canada Inc.$111,422
Jun 2026Compucom Canada Co.$108,832
Jun 2026Carahsoft Technology Corp.$372,021
Jun 2026Motorola Solutions Canada Ltd$68,365
Jun 2026Computacenter Canada Inc.$637,746
Jun 2026Zayo Canada Inc.$109,831
Jun 2026Telus Communications Company$22,488
Jun 2026Telus Communications Company$23,461
Jun 2026Telus Communications Company$35,754

By year

Contracts by the year they were dated.

YearContractsTotal
20061$115K
20073$535M
20083$97M
20095$147M
201055$1.1B
201153$1.6B
2012690$386M
20131,152$941M
2014219$734M
2015725$1.4B
20161,181$1.7B
20172,362$7.8B
20182,324$2B
20192,099$3.2B
20201,873$1.6B
20212,100$2.3B
20221,765$2B
20231,746$2.3B
20241,806$2.3B
20251,444$2.7B
2026647$962M

How they were awarded

As the department reported it; older contracts often don't say.

Procurement methodContractsTotal
Competitive9,905$15.4B
Non-competitive5,022$8.5B
Competitive: open bidding2,910$7.5B
Not stated3,516$1.6B
Competitive: selective tendering825$1.5B
Advance contract award notice75$1.3B

Goods, services or construction

TypeContractsTotal
Services8,770$20.4B
Goods9,548$13.4B
Not stated3,516$1.6B
Construction419$307M