Open tenderTender · Closed · Request for Proposal
CABLE, SPECIAL PURPOSE, ELECTRICAL
Department of National Defence (DND)
- Bids closeClosed
- October 16, 2026
- October 16, 2026 at 14:00 (tomorrow)October 16, 2026 at 14:00
- Published
- September 15, 2026
- amended September 28, 2026
- Type
- Goods
- Competitive - Traditional
- Delivery
- Anywhere in Canada
CanadaBuys tender notices published since Aug 2022; open as of October 12, 2026. Source: Public Services and Procurement Canada, CanadaBuys open data.
What it is
- Reference
- cb-107-78365176 · solicitation W8482-275664/A
- Commodity (UNSPSC)
- 26121500 Electrical wire
- Topic
- Power generation and distribution
- Delivery regions
- Anywhere in Canada
- Trade agreements
- Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA)
- How the winner is picked
- Lowest Price What this means
Excerpt of the buyer’s description, with contact details left out. The notice on CanadaBuys is the official version.
Should you bid?
What the public record says about work like this. The notice on CanadaBuys is what counts: read it before deciding.
- Who won the last one
The last award notice from National Defence for the same commodity code went to a supplier this site does not name in Sep 2026. That contract runs to Nov 2027.
- What work like this goes for
Half of the 16 award notices for the same commodity family were between $72,586 and $363,307; the middle one was $140,858. Values as awarded, in Canadian dollars, and often including option years.
- How many bids to expect
National Defence’s competitive contracts of $25,000 or more since Apr 2022 drew a median of 1 bid; 89% drew a single bid (1,349 contracts).
Bid counts as the department reported them to the Treasury Board. Departments count differently, so compare within one buyer, not across buyers.
- How this buyer buys
Of National Defence’s 335 contracts for power generation and distribution since Apr 2022, 8% were non-competitive and 17% were call-ups against standing offers or supply arrangements, which only firms already on those lists can win. How to get on them
- Room for smaller firms
21% of the 187 award notices for the same topic went to suppliers with under $1 million in federal contracts since Jan 2004.
Sources: CanadaBuys award notices since Aug 2022 (October 12, 2026); Treasury Board contracts data, bid counts from Apr 2022 on (October 13, 2026). Buyers are matched by name; Crown corporations such as Defence Construction Canada are not in the Treasury Board data.
New to bidding? How to bid on federal contracts · Get help with a bid
Who won the last ones like it
Recent CanadaBuys award notices with the same commodity code.
| Awarded | Supplier | What | Buyer | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2026 | The Gear Centre | Heavy Logistics Vehicle Wheeled (HLVW) – Spares – Miscellaneous | Department of National Defence (DND) | $11,551 |
| May 2025 | Simex Defence | CABLE, SPECIAL PURPOSE, ELECTRICAL | Department of National Defence (DND) | $440,032 |
| May 2023 | East-Glo Electric Limited | Supply and Installation of high voltage cable, Newman Sound Day Use Area, Terra Nova National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador | Parks Canada | $157,550 |
| Apr 2023 | D.A. Electric Ltd. | Camera & Alarm Wiring Upgrades for RCMP Hay River Detachment | Royal Canadian Mounted Police | $63,865 |
Values as awarded, from $11,551 to $440,032.
Who wins most in this commodity class
Suppliers with the most award notices in the same six-digit UNSPSC class since 2022. Notices that give no value count in Awards, not in Total.
| Supplier | Awards | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Simex Defence Inc. | 4 | Not stated |
| Simex Defence | 1 | $440K |
| East-Glo Electric Limited | 1 | $158K |
| D.A. Electric Ltd. | 1 | $64K |
| The Gear Centre | 1 | $12K |
| Simex Defence Inc | 1 | Not stated |
| Unisource Technology Inc | 1 | Not stated |
CanadaBuys award notices since Aug 2022. They overlap the Treasury Board contract figures and are never added to them. Source: CanadaBuys open data, October 12, 2026.