Open tenderTender · Closed · Request for Proposal
Canopy and Riser Assembly
Department of National Defence (DND)
- Bids closeClosed
- October 22, 2026
- October 22, 2026 at 14:00 (in 7 days)October 22, 2026 at 14:00
- Published
- September 9, 2026
- amended October 7, 2026
- Type
- Goods
- Competitive - Open bidding
- Delivery
- Anywhere in Canada
CanadaBuys tender notices published since Aug 2022; open as of October 12, 2026. Source: Public Services and Procurement Canada, CanadaBuys open data.
What it is
- Reference
- cb-187-86542720 · solicitation W8485-279538/A
- Commodity (UNSPSC)
- 25200000 Aerospace systems and components and equipment25201904 Parachutes
- Topic
- Vehicles, vessels and aircraft
- Delivery regions
- Anywhere in Canada
- Trade agreements
- Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement; Canada-UK Trade Continuity Agreement (Canada-UK TCA); Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA); Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA); Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA); Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement; World Trade Organization Agreement on Government Procurement (WTO GPA); Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA); Canada-Honduras Free Trade Agreement; Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA); Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement (CKFTA); Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)
- How the winner is picked
- Lowest Price What this means
Excerpt of the buyer’s description, with contact details left out. The notice on CanadaBuys is the official version.
Should you bid?
What the public record says about work like this. The notice on CanadaBuys is what counts: read it before deciding.
- Who won the last one
The last award notice from National Defence for the same commodity code went to Simex Defence Inc. in Aug 2026, for $36,718. That contract runs to Mar 2027.
It ends within six months of this one starting, so this tender may be its replacement, and that supplier the incumbent. Incumbents know the work and the buyer; check the notice for whether the scope changed.
- What work like this goes for
Half of the 14 award notices for the same commodity code were between $93,988 and $1,271,762; the middle one was $146,215. Values as awarded, in Canadian dollars, and often including option years.
- How many bids to expect
National Defence’s competitive contracts of $25,000 or more in the same commodity class since Apr 2022 drew a median of 1 bid; 100% drew a single bid (18 contracts).
Bid counts as the department reported them to the Treasury Board. Departments count differently, so compare within one buyer, not across buyers.
- How this buyer buys
Of National Defence’s 2,050 contracts for vehicles, vessels and aircraft since Apr 2022, 7% were non-competitive and 23% were call-ups against standing offers or supply arrangements, which only firms already on those lists can win. How to get on them
- Room for smaller firms
17% of the 47 award notices for the same commodity class went to suppliers with under $1 million in federal contracts since Jan 2004.
Sources: CanadaBuys award notices since Aug 2022 (October 12, 2026); Treasury Board contracts data, bid counts from Apr 2022 on (October 13, 2026). Buyers are matched by name; Crown corporations such as Defence Construction Canada are not in the Treasury Board data.
New to bidding? How to bid on federal contracts · Get help with a bid
Who won the last ones like it
Recent CanadaBuys award notices with the same commodity code.
| Awarded | Supplier | What | Buyer | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2026 | Bell Textron Canada limitée | ACTUATOR ROTARY AUTO-PILOT | Department of Transport (TC) | $111,292 |
| Aug 2026 | Unisource Technologies Inc | GAGE,PRESSURE,DIAL INDICATING | Department of National Defence (DND) | $79,346USD |
| Aug 2026 | Simex Defence Inc. | CLEANER, VACUUM, ELECTRIC | Department of National Defence (DND) | $36,718 |
| May 2026 | Aero Supplies Inc | T8493-250057 - Aft Evaporator | Department of Transport (TC) | $347,588 |
| Mar 2026 | Maxcraft Avionics Ltd. | RFP T8493-250056 - Junction Box and Connector Kit | Department of Transport (TC) | $165,239 |
| Dec 2025 | Maxcraft Avionics Ltd. | T8493-250040 RFP Items for the Dash-8 | Department of Transport (TC) | $127,192 |
| Oct 2025 | Thales USA, Inc. | Thales Instrument Landing System Parts | Department of National Defence (DND) | $47,514 |
| Oct 2025 | Diversified Power Inc. | Bearing Sleeve | Department of National Defence (DND) | $6,858USD |
| Sep 2025 | Diversified Power Inc. | Aircraft Servicing Equipment | Department of National Defence (DND) | $70,756USD |
| Sep 2025 | Rad Global Procurement Inc | Aircraft Servicing Equipment | Department of National Defence (DND) | $49,919USD |
| Sep 2025 | Rad Global Procurement Inc | Bearing, Sleeve | Department of National Defence (DND) | $7,050USD |
| Sep 2025 | Simex Defence Inc. | VALVE, SAFETY RELIEF | Department of National Defence (DND) | $61,191USD |
| Aug 2025 | Simex Defence Inc. | LED Master Caution-Warning Panels | Department of Transport (TC) | $112,772 |
| Jul 2025 | Simex Defence Inc. | T8493-250001-001-Aircraft Propeller Hub Assemblies | Department of Transport (TC) | $235,469 |
| Mar 2025 | Not named here | Department of National Defence (DND) | $1,671,706 |
Values as awarded, from $6,858 to $1,671,706.
Who wins most in this commodity class
Suppliers with the most award notices in the same six-digit UNSPSC class since 2022. Notices that give no value count in Awards, not in Total.
| Supplier | Awards | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Simex Defence Inc. | 5 | $446K1 not stated |
| Patlon Aircraft and Industries Limited | 3 | $4.5M1 not stated |
| Airbus Helicopters Canada Limited | 3 | $1.6M2 not stated |
| Aero Supplies Inc | 2 | $348K1 not stated |
| Maxcraft Avionics Ltd. | 2 | $292K |
| Diversified Power Inc. | 2 | $78K |
| Rad Global Procurement Inc | 2 | $57K |
| Aero Precision Industries LLC | 2 | Not stated |
| PAL Aerospace Ltd. | 2 | Not stated |
| Levaero Aviation Inc. | 1 | $1.5M |
CanadaBuys award notices since Aug 2022. They overlap the Treasury Board contract figures and are never added to them. Source: CanadaBuys open data, October 12, 2026.